School Assignment Brief – Self-Portrait #1: ‘Female Torso’

In this brief we are required to deliver two (2) digital images that included the following:

  • Communicated the concept of self-portrait
  • Incorporated hand drawn/ hand made elements
  • Demonstrated digital manipulation techniques
  • Created a sense of movement.
  • Emphasized focal points through composition, and;
  • A considered use of colour to enhance the quality/ effect of your ‘Self-Portrait’.

The concept of ‘Digital Image #1’ was for me to question ‘femininity’ and the ideals or stereotypes that comes with ‘being feminine’.

A3 Sketch
A3 Sketch
Scanned illustration into the computer. Then printing out the image onto 'Iron-On Transfer Paper'.
Scanned illustration into the computer. Then printing out the image onto ‘Iron-On Transfer Paper’.
Materials used to experiment with colour scheme.
Materials used to experiment with colour scheme.
Image was finished in Photoshop with a CYMK colour scheme.
Image was finished in Photoshop with a CYMK colour scheme.

The illustration is of a rather voluptuous woman breaking away from the blank white canvas with her mismatched body of colours. The female torso, I find, is the most identifiable part of a woman and I thought that it would be most suited in helping me communicate my concept of self-portrait effectively.

Placement of 'Iron-On' paper on top of a long-sleeved fitting shirt.
Placement of ‘Iron-On’ paper on top of a long-sleeved fitting shirt.
Ironed on transfer paper onto shirt.
Ironed on transfer paper onto shirt.

The CYMK colour scheme was to contrast with the white of the shirt and become the focal point of the image. I intentionally ironed on the ‘Female Torso’ onto the front torso area of my shirt.

'Female Torso' on Hill's Hoist (clothes line)
‘Female Torso’ on Hill’s Hoist (clothes line)
'Female Torso' on female torso #1
‘Female Torso’ on female torso #1
'Female Torso' on female torso #2
‘Female Torso’ on female torso #2

‘Feminine’, ‘Femininity’, ‘Femme’ etc. is not an idea that I can relate to most naturally nor am I able to explain what it is without making associations to gender stereotypes. My approach to this subject matter was to, not necessarily hyper sexualise the female body, but to contextualise a rather raw female figure in a modern day surrounding. In ‘Female Torso on Hill’s Hoist’ I had pegged the shirt next to other more mundane laundry and a male undergarment. In ‘Female Torso on female torso’ I decided to have a picture of myself wearing the ‘Female Torso’ to elude audience to me being or perceive me in being feminine. I use a lot of symbolisms/ associations in my artworks, and in this same manner I was attempting to create a visual allegory based on these gender motifs.

n-G

WordPress Post

© Tracy Ng (N-G). All rights reserved.

One thought on “School Assignment Brief – Self-Portrait #1: ‘Female Torso’

Leave a Reply

