'Shattered Glass Ball' Tutorial

Class Blog No.4 – 3D Motion Graphics

Last week I started to work more on my custom motion graphics piece to present for my class exhibition. I have decided on producing the work with Maxon Cinema 4D (C4D) a3D graphics software. For the most part I am teaching myself how to use  this newly acquired program.

Prior to Cinema 4D I have only used Adobe Photoshop to produce very basic 3D shapes and ‘Motion’ to create short animations in class.

I made several very basic animation and 3D renders via tutorials to get me up to scratch:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I quickly learnt how the rendering process could take up to several hours to complete and my longest animation was the one below, it took nearly 4 hours:

Iridescent Waves animation tutorial
Iridescent Waves animation tutorial

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 1.34.08 AM

At the moment I am working on an animation about a flying ‘Space Rock’ falling in love with a ‘Glass Mineral’. So far I am only 6 seconds in but that took me up to 6 hours to produce.

'Platonic Love' custom animation
‘Platonic Love’ custom animation

Below are a handful of youtube tutorials that helped me:

©Tracy Ng. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Class Blog No.4 – 3D Motion Graphics

Leave a Reply

