The Birth of Paying Venus V2 by Tracy Ng

‘The Birth of Paying Venus’ – Student Competition Entry

My ‘Visual Design’ entries for the ‘Taiwan International Student Design Competition 2017’ has finally been submitted. I am excited to share some of my designs here and how they reflect on this year’s competition theme of ‘Opportunity’.

Official Description of this piece:

“The opportunity to achieve pay equality is a myth to me. ‘The Global Gender Gap Report 2016’ by the World Economic Forum suggests that, at our current pace, it would take 170 years to universally close the pay gap between women and men. Meaning, I would never see that opportunity in my lifetime. I decided to visualise the ‘Myth of Equal Pay’ by modernising Botticelli’s 15th Century painting depicting the ‘Birth of Venus’, as a ‘Nouveau Riche Venus’ in the year AD 2187 (170 years from now).”

The Birth of Paying Venus V1 by Tracy Ng
The Birth of Paying Venus V1 by Tracy Ng
The Birth of Paying Venus V2 by Tracy Ng
The Birth of Paying Venus V2 by Tracy Ng
The Birth of Paying Venus V3 by Tracy Ng
The Birth of Paying Venus V3 by Tracy Ng

 

In the beginning, I wanted to design posters that addressed the competition theme light heartedly, and so shied away from addressing more ‘sensitive’ subject matters. However, after receiving feedback from some of my earlier pieces I realised that ‘student competitions’ are probably the best places to push the boundaries of norms and social values. ‘The Birth of Paying Venus’ is a mixed media piece that I intentionally kept ‘a touch’ unrefined as to allow the rough textures communicate how I felt.

©Tracy Ng. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

